Dorothy I. Height/Benning Neighborhood Library

Valentine Family Story time

Published on Monday, February 6, 2012

Enjoy stories. Make Valentines. Sample chocolate. Learn to use and check out the storytime-to-go kits.

For ages 18 months - 8 years

Tuesday, February 14, 2012
6:30-8:00p.m.

Dorothy I. Height/Benning Neighborhood Library
3935 Benning Rd., N.E.
(202) 281– 2583

Near the Minnesota Ave. Metro stop.

  

Mary Cardwell and Madame Lillian Evanti: African-American Women in Opera

Published on Monday, January 30, 2012

Mary Cardwell and Madame Lillian Evanti made history and international news in crossing a barrier of footlights in the world of opera.  Come join us Monday, February 13, at 1 p.m. 

All ages are welcome.  This program is free and open to the public.

For more information, please call 202-281-2583.

Resume Writing Workshop

Published on Friday, January 27, 2012

There will be a Résumé Writing Workshop held Tuesday, February 7, from 3 to 4 p.m. on the lower level of the library.

Dragon Making

Published on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Come celebrate the Chinese New Year with songs, stories, coloring and dragon making.  Monday, January 23 at 10:15 a.m.  Ages 2-5.

Published on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Gentle Hatha Yoga Classes have resumed, every Saturday from 10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.  Join us as Yoga Activist presents Hatha Yoga, a great way to relax and stretch your body!  Please wear comfy clothes.  Mats will be provided or you may bring your own.  Hope to see you there.

Published on Monday, November 14, 2011

All Gentle Hatha Yoga Classes are canceled for Saturday, November 26, due to the Thanksgiving holiday.  Classes will resume on Saturday, December 3, at 10 a.m.

Published on Monday, October 31, 2011

Come and have a light breakfast, and listen to a story at 10:30 a.m. Ages 2-5 years old, celebrate with songs and stories and a movie at noon, Cars 2

Saturday, November 12, bring your kids and enjoy a snack and fun inside the Children's Circle Room.  All ages are welcome. 

All programs and activities are free and open to the public.  For more information, please contact the Children's Room.

Published on Monday, October 3, 2011

Come and join us Wednesday, October 19, at 10:30 a.m. for a visit from the D.C. Fire Department.

Children aged 2 to 5 are welcome. Children must be accompanied by a parent or caretaker.

Published on Wednesday, August 10, 2011

The water main break has been repaired. Dorothy I. Height/Benning Neighborhood Library will open on time today.

Published on Friday, July 29, 2011

Effective Monday, August 1 through Wednesday, November 30, 2011, the Dorothy I. Height/Benning Neighborhood Library parking lot will be closed due to the Benning Road construction project. 

The parking lot is closing because the construction project is shifting from the north side of Benning Road, N.E. to the south side.  As an alternative, the Minnesota Ave. Metro station on the Orange line is located just blocks from the library.  We apologize for any inconvenience.

Read more about the construction project.

Pages