The Interrupted Tale by: Maryrose Wood

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, #4
Librarians are constantly asked by parents for a series for their child who is an advanced reader. But they don't want content that is too advanced for a younger child. I offer the Incorrigible Children as a wonderful alternative!The Interrupted Tale book art Amazingly pithy, very complex, layered with mystery, and lots of detail for advanced readers. This is an amazing series, but be warned... there are SIX books in this series, I didn't know that until now, so I've been frustrated with the non-conclusions conclusions of each story. While Wood does an fantastic job of bringing some of the mysteries in the plot to a close, she is really adept at keeping the larger questions still unanswered. She writes so well for the 8-12 age group, but anyone would really love these stories. They would even be completely appropriate for a 6 or 7 year old read a loud! Each chapter would even make a great bed time story. In other words, everyone should be reading these books! I devoured this book in a few days and am already counting down to the next one.

The fourth installment has Ms. Lumley and the children traveling to the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, which happens to be Ms. Lumley's alma mater. While at the academy Ms. Lumley, with the help of the Incorrigibles of course, find out more about the mysterious Judge Quimby, and have also gained the trust of Lord Ashton. But just as all the pieces of the larger mystery come together, people start disappearing again!
 
A perfect book for readers of Mr. Popper's Penguins, Mary Poppins, and Lemony Snicket.