Your Friday Five

Southeast Library

Your Friday Five

Young adult titles to make you laugh.

I like dark dystopias, gritty street lit, and tragic tales of heartbreak just as much as the next YA reader. Sometimes it can all feel a bit heavy, though, and that's when it's time to seek out something lighter -- or at least something with levity. If you, too, are looking for stories sure to deliver some laughs (and maybe an occasional tear as well), check out these five titles; I wouldn't call them all comedies, but each of them definitely have a generous sense of humor.

 

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks book coverThe Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks
E. Lockhart
Strong, smart, independent Frankie devises a plot to infiltrate an exclusive, all-male secret society at her prep school, drumming up action, antics, romance, and a whole lot of quirky, witty humor along the way. The Disreputable History is a great choice for fans of John Green, Libba Bray, and Lauren Myracle.

 
Better Nate than Ever book coverBetter Nate than Ever
Tim Federle

With the help of his brazen, scheming friend Libby, Nate manages to escape small town Pennsylvania on a solo adventure to pursue his dream of starring in a Broadway musical.

First person perspective and casual, conversational writing make reading this book a lot like spending time with a quick-witted friend with baller storytelling skills (especially listening to the audio version!) Fans of Smile and Drama by Raina Telgemeier will want to check this one out.


 
Son of the Mob book coverSon of the Mob
Gordon Korman

Being the son of a mob boss comes in handy every once in a while, but for the most part, Vince is over the stress and complexity of the family business. And it's only about to get more complicated, as he falls for the perfect girl -- whose dad just happens to be an FBI agent.

A couple of mysteries, plenty of action, romance, and humor make this one appealing to lots of different kinds of readers.

 
Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time IndianThe Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
Sherman Alexie
Budding cartoonist Junior leaves his troubled school on the Spokane Indian Reservation to attend an all-white farm town school where the only other Indian is the school mascot. 

By turns heart-wrenching, heartwarming, and laugh-out-loud funny, the superb writing and clever illustrations of Absolutely True Diary will make you FEEL ALL THE FEELINGS.

 
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me book coverIs Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (and other concerns)
Mindy Kaling

While not necessarily a YA title (you'll find it in Adult Nonfiction at DCPL), this book has plenty of teen appeal. Fans of Kaling's TV shows The Office and The Mindy Project, as well as Tina Fey's memoir Bossypants, will enjoy Kaling's self-aware, self-deprecating, pop-culture-savvy brand of humor. Infused with awkward childhood/teenage stories, hilarious lists like "Types of Women in Romantic Comedies Who Are Not Real," and of course, tales from Kaling's comedy career, this memoir will make you wonder who the heck would WANT to hang out without Mindy .