History Pulitzer Prize Winners

The Pulitzer Prize has been honoring excellence in journalism and the arts since 1917.

Read these prize winners:

  • The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family by Annette Gordon-Reed (2009)
  • What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1815-1848 by Daniel Walker Howe (2008)
  • The Race Beat: The Press, the Civil Rights Struggle, and the Awakening of a Nation by Gene Roberts and Hank Klibanoff (2007)
  • Polio: An American Story by David M. Oshinsky (2006)
  • Washington's Crossing by David Hackett Fischer (2005)
  • A Nation Under Our Feet: Black Political Struggles in the Rural South from Slavery to the Great Migration by Steven Hahn (2004)
  • An Army at Dawn: The War in North Africa, 1942-1943 by Rick Atkinson (2003)
  • The Metaphysical Club: A Story of Ideas in America by Louis Menand (2002)
  • Founding Brothers: The Revolutionary Generation by Joseph J. Ellis (2001)
  • Freedom From Fear: The American People in Depression and War, 1929-1945 by David M. Kennedy (2000)

Find these titles in the library catalog.  Place a hold to have a book delivered to the library nearest you.

For more past winners and nominees, visit the Pulitzer Prize Website.