Check Out Biography/Autobiography Pulitzer Prize Winners

The Pulitzer Prize has been honoring excellence in journalism and the arts since 1917.

Read these prize winners:

  • American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House by Jon Meacham (2009)
  • Eden's Outcasts: The Story of Louisa May Alcott and Her Father by John Matteson (W.W. Norton) (2008)
  • The Most Famous Man in America: The Biography of Henry Ward Beecher by Debby Applegate (2007)
  • American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer by Kai Bird and Martin J. Sherwin (2006)
  • de Kooning: An American Master by Mark Stevens and Annalyn Swan (2005)
  • Khrushchev: The Man and His Era by William Taubman (2004)
  • Master of the Senate by Robert A. Caro (2003)
  • John Adams by David McCullough (2002)
  • W.E.B. Du Bois: The Fight for Equality and the American Century, 1919-1963 by David Levering Lewis (2001)
  • Vera (Mrs. Vladimir Nabokov) by Stacy Schiff (2000)

Find these titles in the library catalog.  Place a hold to have a book delivered to the library nearest you.

For more past winners and nominees, visit the Pulitzer Prize Website