Read National Book Award Winners in Fiction

The National Book Award, given since 1950, honors the year’s best work in fiction, nonfiction and poetry. Read past winners:

  • Shadow Country by Peter Matthiessen (2008)
  • Tree of Smoke by Denis Johnson (2007)
  • The Echo Maker by Richard Powers (2006)
  • Europe Central by William T. Vollmann (2005)
  • The News from Paraguay by Lily Tuck  (2004)
  • The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard (2003)
  • Three Junes by Julia Glass (2002)
  • The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen (2001)
  • In America by Susan Sontag (2000)

Find these titles in the library catalog. Place a hold to have a book delivered to the library nearest you.

Find out more and view book nominees at the National Book Award Website