Read National Book Award Winners in Poetry

The National Book Award, given since 1950, honors the year’s best work in fiction, nonfiction and poetry. Read past poetry winners:

  • Fire to Fire: New and Collected Poems by Mark Doty (2008)
  • Time and Materials by Robert Hass (2007)
  • Splay Anthem by Nathaniel Mackey (2006)
  • Migration: New and Selected Poems by W.S. Merwin (2005)
  • Door in the Mountain: New and Collected Poems, 1965-2003 by Jean Valentine (2004)
  • The Singing by C.K. Williams (2003)
  • In the Next Galaxy by Ruth Stone (2002)
  • Poems Seven: New and Complete Poetry by Alan Dugan (2001)
  • Blessing the Boats: New and Selected Poems 1988-2000 by Lucille Clifton (2000)

Find these titles in the library catalog.  Place a hold to have a book delivered to the library nearest you.

Find out more and view book nominees at the National Book Award Website.