National Book Award Winners in Young People’s Literature

The National Book Award, given since 1950, honors the year’s best work in fiction, nonfiction and poetry. Read past young people's literature winners:

  • What I Saw and How I Lied by Judy Blundell (2008)
  • The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie (2007)
  • The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Vol. 1: The Pox Party by M.T. Anderson (2006)
  • The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall (2005)
  • Godless by Pete Hautman (2004)
  • The Canning Season by Polly Horvath (2003)
  • The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer (2002)
  • True Believer by Virginia Euwer Wolff  (2001)
  • Homeless Bird by Gloria Whelan (2000)

Find these titles in the library catalog.  Place a hold to have a book delivered to the library nearest you.

Find out more and view book nominees at the National Book Award Website